October 01, 2008
Should I Send Money to This Website for Writers?
printable version
I wanted a work at home job so I signed up for a work at home site. I got an email saying FreelanceHomeWriters.com is a legitimate site. I have not paid anything yet. I'm very skeptical because they are wanting 2.95 to ship a cd, then after seven days 40 dollars or something like that monthly. I was wondering if you know if this is a scam or not?
At WritersWeekly.com, we feature original paying markets and links to new job listings for free each Wednesday. We also offer a free ebook, How to Be a Freelance Writer.
You should never pay a company for information you can likely obtain for free (and that another company just might be recycling from other websites). I'm not saying this firm in particular does...but a lot of them do.
There are complaints posted about FreelanceHomeWriters.com online. See:
http://www.accentuateservices.com/xmb/viewthread.php?tid=127
http://www.complaintsboard.com/byurl/freelancehomewriters.com.html
http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/375/ripoff0375358.htm
and
http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/309/RipOff0309007.htm
Using your favorite search engine, you should always search the name of a company with a word like "complaint" before doing business with them. Using the word "scam" in the search engines also helps.
RSS Feed
Get new articles and paying markets the instant they are posted to the
site by
What is RSS?
Or get them every Wednesday in our email newsletter:
Ebooks
Print Books
- The Art of the Press Release
- Remember, Write and Publish Your Life Story
- Creative Workout: Turning Everyday Objects, People And Events Into Stories
- Marketing Boot Camp For Freelance Writers
- Cash in on Newsletter Writing and Publishing
- Cash in on Teens and Tweens!
- Writing As Healing: The Power Of Personal Stories
- Finish Your Novel in 8 Weeks!
- Breaking into the Local Newspaper and Magazine Market
- BAM - Book a Month
- BAM Advanced Fiction Techniques: First Pages